Leafzang Cd Launch/Matthew Halpin Group double bill

Tuesday 26th June

Join Leafzang and the Matthew Halpin group for a special gig in The Back Loft (BYOB) with accompanying art and photography from Kathrina Rupit and Nina 'Core' Franco. There will be CDs and art for sale, great jazz and some tasty bites and wine available also.

Leafzang is a Dublin-based instrumental acoustic Sextet led by guitarist Paddy Groenland, including Matthew Halpin on Tenor Saxophone, Matthew Berril on Clarinet, Lioba Petrie on Cello, Neil O'Loghlen on double bass and Andre Antunes on Drumkit. Performing original music which takes its cue from ECM European jazz and soundrack-like atmosphericisms. Here they will present their debut eponymous CD.

The Matthew Halpin group is made up of brilliant young international musicians who excel in both traditional and contemporary jazz. In Matthew's own words;

'The group features Christian Li (piano), Mike Bono (guitar), Jared Henderson (bass) and Roberto Giaquinto (drums). Each of these musicians are stand out players in their own right, most of them studying on full scholarship at Berklee College of Music.

I'm currently composing a set of music specific to this group that I think will show off the highly interactive capabilities and the incredible soloing skills each musician has. The style of music that I'm writing is a result of the music that I've been playing and studying in the past three years, taking influence from jazz standards and the original music we have worked on together. What I am trying to make most prominent in the music is the enjoyment and humor that we find in playing together and which has always come naturally to us, while being true to the intensity and emotional depth of the music which we all love.'

Kathrina Rupit is a colourful Mexican Street artist, check out her stuff here:

Nina Franco is a photographer from Rio de Janeiro who specialises in dark and provocative images:

Admission is 8/10 euros